PADET Scholarships

Overview compiled by Mary Wareham 15 February 2022

Here's an overview of post-graduate scholarship funding provided by the Peace and Disarmament Education Trust (PADET) from its first grant round in 1992 through 2020. I compiled this research from PADET's public record of annual reports and the summary findings follow along with the full list of scholarship recipients.

Peace and Disarmament Education Trust Scholarships, 1992-2020

- PADET spent \$774,738 funding 84 scholarships between 1992 and 2020.
- The scholarships went to 68 New Zealand students, funding 50 Masters of Arts and 18 PhDs. All received one-off grants, except for eight students who received 2 grants each and four who received 3 grants each.
- Two-thirds of the scholarship recipients were women (41) so there was gender balance. Few Maori or Pacific Islanders applied for or received PADET scholarships.
- One third (31%) of scholarships went to students at the University of Canterbury (22 students). Other scholarships recipients studied at Victoria University of Wellington (12), Otago University (10), Massey University (7), and Waikato University (7).
- The lowest number of scholarships went to students at the University of Auckland (5) and AUT (1). A similarly low number (5) of scholarships were granted to New Zealanders studying overseas at tertiary institutions in Australia, France, and UK.
- 31% of recipients studied conflict resolution and peace issues, while 28% studied nuclear disarmament (14 students) or other weapons (5). 23% studied terrorism (6), peacekeeping (4), foreign policy (2), and miscellaneous topics (4 incl. 1 MSc). The Pacific (7) accounted for 10% of topics covered.

PADET Scholarship Recipients: 1992-2020

Mr. Sean Ainsworth, MA Victoria, 2019

Ms. Natasha Barnes, MA Canterbury, 2009

Ms. Marianne Bevan, MA Victoria, 2010

Ms. Sheryl Boxall, MA Canterbury, 2005

Ms. Vanessa Bramwell, MA Massey, 2020

Mr. Lyndon Burford, MA Canterbury, 2006/PhD Auckland, 2014

Ms. Geraldine Canham, MA Waikato, 2002

Mr. Martin Child, MA Auckland, 2009

Mr. Peter Cody, MSc Oxford (UK), 2003

Mr. Marcus Coll, MA Canterbury, 2020

Mr. Patrick Cruywagen, MA Massey, 2001

Ms. Sharon Cuddy, MA Massey, 2012

Ms. Kate Dewes, PhD NSW (Australia), 1997-1998

Ms. Sisira Edirppulige, PhD Auckland, 1998-1999

Ms. Kate Farrell, MA Canterbury, 2008

Ms. Claire Fitzpatrick, MA Victoria, 2020

Ms. Margaret Flaws, MA Massey, 2000

Mr. Caleb John Foale, MA Otago, 1992

Ms. Judith Fretter, MA Canterbury, 1999

Ms. Belinda Gardner, MA Victoria, 2010

Mr. Terry Genet, MA Canterbury, 2006

Ms. Susannah Gordon, MA Canterbury, 2006

Ms. Bethan Greener, MA Canterbury, 1998

Mr. Jeremy Hall, MA Otago, 1993-1994

Ms. Tilly Hampton, MA Canterbury, 2018

Mr. Julian Hansen, PhD Auckland, 1992-1994

Ms. Stacy Hitchcock, MA Otago, 2016

Mr. Graeme Horne, MA Auckland, 1996

Ms. Allison Houston, MA Canterbury, 1993

Ms. Laura Jacobs-Garrod, PhD Massey, 2008

Ms. Rose Jago, MA Sorbonne (France), 2011

Ms. Naomi Johnstone, PhD Otago, 2014

Ms. Rebekah Jourdain, PhD Massey, 2008

Ms. Britt Kalla, MA Canterbury, 2005

Mr. Robert Kilpatrick, PhD AUT, 2015

Mr. Jeremy Patrick Langley, MA Auckland, 1992

Ms. Alia Levine, MA Victoria, 2005

Mr. Michael Ligaliga, MA Otago, 2016

Mr. Terence Penn McKay, PhD Massey, 2004

Ms. Hilary Marston, MA Auckland, 2003

Mr. Callum Martin, MA Victoria, 2010

Ms. Katherine Matthews, MA Otago, 2016

Mr. Peter Mayell, PhD Canterbury, 2002

Mr. Tim Milne, MA Canterbury, 2007

Ms. Samantha Morris, MA Victoria, 2014

Ms. Valerie Morse, MA Victoria, 2003

Mr. Mathew Nichols, MA Canterbury, 2006

Ms. Marie Nissanka, MA Otago, 2016

Ms. Anna Parker, MA New England (Australia), 2003

Ms. Tina Tangi Whaiora Porou, PhD Waikato, 2002

Ms. Tamsin Quinn, MA Canterbury, 1998-2000

Mr. Joseph Roehl, PhD Victoria, 2003

Ms. Hannah Scott, MA Canterbury, 2005

Ms. Deane Searle, MA Waikato, 2003

Ms. Olivia Shimasaki, MA Canterbury, 2019-2020

Ms. Meghan Stewart-Wood, MA Otago, 2020

Ms. Joanne Stone, MA Victoria, 2004

Mr. Jonathan Swanson, PhD Waikato, 1998-1999

Ms. Natasha Van Dusschoten, MA Waikato, 1996

Mr. Andrew Warden, PhD Otago, 2010

Ms. Mary Wareham, MA Victoria, 1994

Mr. Kerry Watt, MA Otago, 1996

Mr. Richard Wells-Jackson, PhD Canterbury, 1994-1996

Ms. Myra Williamson, PhD Waikato, 2002-2004

Mr. Guy Wilson-Roberts, PhD Auckland, 1996-1998

Mr. Brett Woods, MA Canterbury, 2006

Ms. Angela Woodward, MA UK (LSE), 2002

Mr. Huang Zhen, PhD Waikato, 1993-1995